Q & A: Double Disc Court Rules
By Patty Mason, based on WFDF Official Rules of Flying Disc Sports 1996
Rules: Article II - Double Disc Court
How do you start the game?
One player from each team flips a disc and a player calls "same" or "different"
After winning the flip what are the choices?
The team winning the disc flip shall have its choice on one of the three
options: 1) which court they will defend; or 2) which team shall initiate;
or 3) which team shall declare its server. The team losing the flip shall
then have its choice on one of the two remaining options, leaving the
final option to the team winning the flip (204.01 A).
What does the non-serving partner call to initiate serving?
The player states the score and then makes the serving call, "Ready, two,
one, throw." There should be equal time intervals between each word in
the serving call. The total time of the serving call must be between 2
seconds - 3.5 seconds (204.01 C).
What happens when someone makes an incorrect serving call?
The non-initiation team may call "bad call." The team making the call
may either take any points they have scored on the service, replay the
service or if the service resulted in both discs being caught, they may
play on after all players are ready (204.01 D).
When does the disc have to be released on a serve?
The servers must release the discs on the word "throw" (204.01 C).
What happens if a disc is released early or late on a serve (before or
after "throw" has been said)?
The opponents may call "early" or "late", but to be valid, these calls
must be made immediately. The team making the call may either take any
points they have scored on the service, replay the service or if the service
resulted in both discs being caught, they may play on after all players
are ready (204.01 D).
How does each team prepare for a serve?
The server of the initiation team must establish and maintain a position
in the court during the 3 seconds prior to the beginning of the service
call. After the beginning of the service call, that player and all other
players may move as they wish. Serves must be made from the court (the
thrower may travel on a serve) (204.01 B).
What if the incorrect people serve?
The call of "wrong servers" must be made immediately. This call must be
made before a serve touches the ground or before a second throw is made
in order for the service to be redone. If the call is not made before
this time play continues & the next service in the match should return
to the correct serving combination (204.01 G).
What are the ways you can score in DDC?
a thrown disc comes to rest completely inside the court, having landed
ant a legal angle, and having never touched out of bounds, a point is
scored by the team attacking that court.
- A point
is scored by the opposing team whenever, during play: 1) a thrown disc
is touched and dropped by a player; 2) a player touches his/her own
throw; 3) a player hands the disc to his/her teammate.
a player or team touches both discs simultaneously during play, two
points are scored by the opposing team (204.06 A).
What score do you play to?
A game lasts until one team reaches a score of at least 21 points with
a lead of at least two points, or until a team scores 25 points (206.03
What is a break?
A break is when both discs land and the result is a scoring situation
against each team. No points are scored (204.06 B).
Who serves after a break has occurred?
Play is restarted using the other serving combination (204.06 B).
What is an impasse?
An impasse occurs during an exchange when a player on each team holds
a disc (204.02 B).
What happens after an impasse?
The initiation team must throw the disc within 4 seconds, unless their
opponents choose to break the impasse by throwing. If the initiation team
fails to initiate within 4 seconds, the opponents may call, "stalling"
(204.02 B). See below for explanation of infractions.
What is a late throw?
A late throw is a throw made after a point has been scored. A late throw
may not be scored by the thrower, but shall be scored for the opponents
of the throwing team if the throw goes out-of-bounds (204.03 D).
Can you throw from out of bounds?
No, unless you want to give the other team a point. Throws made with a
supporting point completely out-of-bounds, or, from mid-air with the last
supporting point contact having been out-of-bounds, are scored for the
opponent (204.03 D). If a player throws a disc after an out-of-bounds
throw, this second throw is considered to be a late throw (204.03 D).
What do you do if you catch a disc out of bounds?
Should the disc be caught out of bounds, the court position is centered
at the nearest point inside the court from the point where it was caught
What is court position?
A player's court position is a 1 m diameter circle centered directly under
the center of his/her hips. Court position is established at the coincidence
of a catch and contact with the ground. Should the disc be caught out
of bounds, the court position is centered at the nearest point inside
the court from the point where it was caught. If momentum carries a player
closer to the opponents' court after a catch and found contact, the player
must back-step the forward distance gained in order to establish a court
position. If momentum carries a player in any direction not closer to
the opponents' court, the court position will be established where the
player stops· Other than on the serve, each throw must be made with a
supporting point on the court position or with no part of the thrower
in contact with the ground, in which case, the last contact with the ground
must have been at the court position (204.03 A).
Is tipping the disc allowed?
YES! Tipping is the standard way of escaping a double-touch situation
and is usually done with the first disc touched by a team. Except in escape
situations, teams are allowed only one tip. An escape situation occurs
when both discs are thrown at the same court. Violations of this rules
constitute traveling (204.05 A).
Can you tip using both hands?
Yes (204.05 B).
Can you catch a tip made by your partner?
Yes (204.04 A).
Can you spin the disc on your finger?
Yes, but this constitutes a catch (204.05 A).
Can two players touch one disc at the same time?
Yes, so long as the second disc is not in contact with either teammate.
Either teammate may throw the disc afterwards (204.04 A).
Is a catch good if it simultaneously contacts the ground or boundary line?
Yes, contrary to ultimate (204.04 A).
Are body traps allowed?
Yes (204.04 A).
when two people on the same team touch the disc at the same time?
This is called a "double-touch" and when the attacking team observes what
they believe to be a double-touch then may call "Two," immediately after
the assumed double. If the defending team agrees with the call, play stops
and 2 points are scored for the attacking team. If the defending team
does not agree, they must call, "No," immediately after the call of "Two,"
and play on without interruption until the next impasse or undisputed
score occurs. At that time players must maintain their court positions
and any disputed calls shall be discussed and determined in the order
in which they occurred. If a disputed call is resolved such that a point
or points are scored, the exchanged is ended. If, however it is determined
that none of the disputed calls result in a point or points scored, then
either: any undisputed points which have been scored are awarded, or play
should continue after all players are ready (204.04 B).
When do teams switch courts?
Teams switch courts after every 5 points total are accumulated (204.01
Are the court lines in or out?
The boundary lines are not considered to be part of the courts, they are
out of bounds (202.03).
What happens when play is interrupted by an outside agent?
Should a disc or player be interfered with by the actions of an outside
agent, such as a spectator or animal, a replay of the exchange will be
allowed if it is determined that play was altered by the interference
What is the "play on" procedure?
When all players appear to be ready, the initiation team shall ask, "ready?"
and the opponents shall respond with "play on." At that time, an impasse
occurs and the usual rules apply (glossary).
What are the infractions of DDC?
The infractions of DDC are "traveling", "line fault", "stalling" and "angle."
- occurs when all of a player's contact with the court is removed and
subsequent ground contact is made elsewhere while s/he is still holding
the disc. If a player throws after traveling, the other team may call
this infraction. A player can avoid a travel call by re-establishing
his/her court position and then throwing (204.03 B).
- Line Fault
- occurs when a thrower is legally on the court position and in contact
with the boundary line during a throw (204.03 C).
- occurs when the initiation team fails to throw within 4 seconds of
an impasse (204.02 B).
- occurs when a throw strikes the ground at an angle of 30ˇ or greater
from the horizontal (the exception is a throw that rolls away from the
thrower upon initial ground contact and is under 2.5 m as it passes
the opponents' front angle) (204.03 E).
What happens when an infraction is called?
The infractions of "traveling", "line fault" and "stalling" may be made
during or immediately after the occurrence. The infraction of "angle"
must be made prior to the disc hitting the ground. If the team on which
the call is made accepts the call as valid, play stops immediately with
any throws made after the occurrence being of no consequence. The team
making the call may either: 1) dismiss the infraction with any points
that have been scored in the exchange being awarded without consideration
of any infraction; or 2) charge their opponents with an infraction and
replay the exchange. On the third and subsequent instances of a team being
charged with any combination of infractions in a game, the team not committing
the infraction is also awarded one point if they choose to replay the
option (204.07 A).
What happens when a call is disputed?
If a player disagrees with an infraction call, that player must call,
"No." immediately following the infraction call and play continues without
interruption until the next impasse or undisputed score occurs. At that
time, players must maintain their court positions and any disputed calls
shall be discussed and determined in the order in which they occurred.
If a call is determined to be valid, the team making the call then chooses
from the options described above (204.07 B).
What if both teams call infractions against each other during the same exchange?
If one or more valid infraction calls are made against each team during
the same exchange, the infractions shall be considered to offset on another.
The exchange is to be replayed with no infraction being charged to either
team (204.07 C).
What happens when both discs hit each other in mid-air?
If the two discs make mid-air contact at any time, a point will be scored
by the opponents for each disc that lands and stops in a team's court.
If a player or team touches one or two discs after the contact, which
they subsequently fail to catch, their opponents receive a point for each
dropped disc, in or out of the court. After mid-air contact, no further
throws may be made and the landing-angle restriction and double-touch
rules do not apply for the remainder of the exchange. A replay is taken
when no points are scored, or when the result is a point scored against
each team (204.06 C).
What are the courtesy signals of DDC?
The courtesy signals are non-mandatory signals used to clarify close calls:
Disc landed in = point arm & finger at a 45ˇ angle down & toward the center
of the court. Disc landed out = point arm & finger at a 45ˇ angle up &
away from the center of the court. When a team calls a double and the
opposing team acknowledges that a double has been scored on them = opposing
team signals by displaying the peace sign (204.02 F).